Paradise: Hope

Austria, Germany, France, 2013г., 92 min

Producer

Ulrich Seidl

HOPE, the third film in the PARADISE TRILOGY, tells the story of the 13-year-old Melanie. While her mother (Teresa) travels to Kenya, Melanie spends her holiday in the Austrian countryside at a strict diet camp for overweight teenagers. Under the supervision of a tattooed trainer and a creepy doctor, the teenagers attempt to do sports during the day and secretly get drunk in the evening. Between physical education and nutrition counseling, pillow fights and her first cigarette, Melanie falls in love with the doctor who is 40 years her senior.

About The Film

In the third part of his 'paradise' trilogy Seidl pits the deep-seated human desire for love and security against harsh reality. From the sterile surroundings of the diet camp, Seidl filters impeccably pristine, minimalist images in which any hint of sensuality, passion or anarchy would appear to be a complete anathema. PARADISE: HOPE is the most tender of the three ‘paradise’ films, for his young protagonists bear within them a spark of hope that love is not just an illusion, but can be an honest and powerful emotion.

HONORS
2012: Berlin International Film Festival – The Official Competition
ABOUT THE DIRECTOR
Ulrich Seidl - 1

Ulrich Seidl

Ulrich Seidl is the director of numerous award-winning documentaries such as JESUS, YOU KNOW, MODELS and ANIMAL LOVE. His work methods include achieving the greatest possible authenticity and showing people in the most solitary and personal moments – has aroused intense debate. His first fiction feature DOG DAY won the Grand Jury Special Prize at the 2001 Venice IFF. Seidl’s second feature film IMPORT/EXPORT has been sold to 20 countries. 

Selected filmography

2013 Paradise: Hope (Paradies: Hoffnung)

2012 Paradise: Faith (Paradies: Glaube)

2012 Paradise: Love (Paradies: Liebe)

2007 Import/Export

2003 Jesus, You Know (Jesus, Du weißt)

2001 State Of The Nation (Zur Lage)

2001 Dog Days (Hundstage)

1998 Models

1995 Animal Love (Tierische Liebe)

1992 Losses To Be Expected (Mit Verlust ist zu rechnen)

1990 Good News – On Newspaper Vendors, Dead Dogs and other Viennese (Good News – Von Kolporteuren, toten Hunden und anderen Wienern)

Рай: Надежда

Австрия, Германия, Франция , 2013г., 92 мин

Режиссер

Ульрих Зайдль

Сценарий

Array

Права

Coproduction Office / Maywin Films AB

Оператор

Эдвард Лахман, Вольфганг Талер

Производство

Ulrich Seidl Film Production GmbH, Tatfil, Parisienne de Production

«Надежда» – третий фильм трилогии «Рай». Пока мама отдыхает в Кении, 13-летняя Мелани проводит каникулы в Австрии, в лагере строгого диетологического режима для подростков, страдающих ожирением. Днём они занимаются физкультурой под наблюдением противного доктора и татуированного тренера, а по вечерам тайком напиваются. За тренировками и занятиями по здоровому питанию, подушечными боями и первыми сигаретами, Мелани вдруг влюбляется в доктора, который на 40 лет старше её.

О фильме 

В третьей части своей «райской» трилогии Зайдль противопоставляет глубинную потребность человека в любви и безопасности суровой реальности. Из стерильного окружения оздоровительного лагеря Зайдль выбирает минималистские образы, в которых любой намек на чувственность, страсть, анархию оборачивается проклятием. «Рай: Надежда» – самый нежный из трех «райских» фильмов. Его молодые герои несут в себе искру надежды, что любовь не просто иллюзия, но может быть честным и сильным чувством.

В ролях

Мелани Ленц, Верена Лебауэр, Йозеф Лоренц, Михаэль Томас, Вивиана Барч<br />

НАГРАДЫ
2012: Фильм-участник основной конкурсной программы Берлинского МКФ (Германия)
О РЕЖИССЕРАХ
Ульрих Зайдль - 1

Ульрих Зайдль

Режиссер многочисленных, удостоенных призами, документальных фильмов, таких как «Иисус, Ты знаешь», «Модели» и «Животная любовь». Его творческий метод достижения максимально возможной подлинности и показа людей в самые интимные моменты вызвал бурные споры. Его первая игровая картина «Собачья жара» была награждена специальной премией жюри Венецианского МКФ (Италия) в 2001 году. «Импорт-экспорт» – первый фильм, в котором Зайдль выступает в качестве продюсера.

Избранная фильмография

2013 Рай: Надежда

2012 Рай: Вера

2012 Рай: Любовь

2007 Импорт-экспорт

2003 Иисус, Ты знаешь

2001 О положении в стране

2001 Собачья жара

1998 Модели

1995 Животная любовь

1992 Ожидаются потери

1990 Хорошие новости: о продавцах газет, дохлых собаках и других обитателях Вены