The Broken Circle Breakdown

Belgium, 2013г., 110 min

Producer

Felix van Groeningen

The Broken Circle Breakdown' tells the love story between Elise and Didier. She has her own tattoo shop, he plays the banjo in a band. It is love at first sight, in spite of major differences. He talks, she listens. He is a dedicated atheist, although at the same time a naïve romantic. She has a cross tattooed in her neck, even though she has both feet firmly on the ground.

Their happiness is complete after their little girl Maybelle is born. Unfortunately, Maybelle, at six years old, becomes seriously ill. Didier and Elise respond in very different ways. But Maybelle does not leave them any choice. Didier and Elise will have to fight for her together.

The Broken Circle Breakdown' is an intense melodrama, full of passion and music. About how love can conquer fate, and sometimes not.

HONORS
2013: Panorama Audience Award at the Berlin International Film Festival
2013: Label Europa Cinemas Award at the Berlin International Film Festival
2013: Best Actress and Best Screenplay Awards at the Tribeca Film Festival
2013: Flemish Film Awards (Oostende IFF, Belgium) for the Best Film, Best Director, Best Cinematography, Best Music, Best Actress, Best Editor, Best Costumes and an Industry Award to the director
ABOUT THE DIRECTOR
Felix van Groeningen - 1

Felix van Groeningen

Born in 1977, graduated from the Royal Academy of Fine Art in Ghent in 2000. He made a few short films and wrote and directed various theatre pieces for the theatre as well as he played the lead role in one of the plays. After various detours through the cultural world, Felix decisively chose to return to making movies. Directed three full-length films.

Selected filmography

2013The Broken Circle Breakdown

2009 The Misfortunates (De helaasheid der dingen)

2007 With friends like these (Dagen zonder life)

2004 Steve + Sky

VIDEO

Разорванный круг

Бельгия, 2013г., 110 мин

Режиссер

Феликс ванн Грунинген

Сценарий

Array

Права

The Match Factory / Maywin Films AB

Оператор

Рубен Импенс

Производство

Menuet in co-production with Topkapi Films

Это история любви Элизы и Дидье. У нее свой татуировочный салон, он играет на банджо в группе. Они совершенно разные, и все же это любовь с первого взгляда. Он говорит, она слушает. Он убежденный атеист и неисправимый романтик, а она покрыта татуировками и твердо стоит ногами на земле.

Их счастье становится абсолютным после рождения дочери Мейбл. К сожалению, в шесть лет девочка серьезно заболевает, и Элиза и Дидье очень по-разному реагируют на эту весть. Но Мэйбл просто не оставляет им выбора: они обязаны бороться за нее вместе. 

В ролях

Вирле Батенс, Йохан Хельденберг, Нелл Катриссе, Гирт ван Рампельберг, Нилс де Кастер

НАГРАДЫ
2013: Приз зрительских симпатий в секции «Панорама» на Берлинском МКФ (Германия)
2013: Награда европейской кинотеатральной прокатной сети Label Europa Cinemas на Берлинском МКФ (Германия)
2013: Призы за лучшую женскую роль и лучший сценарий на МКФ Трайбека (Нью-Йорк, США)
2013: Кинонаграды Фландрии (МКФ в Остенде,Бельгия) за лучший фильм, лучшую работу режиссера, лучшую работу оператора, лучшую музыку, лучшую главную женскую роль, лучший монтаж, лучшие костюмы и специальная награда режиссеру от бельгийской киноиндустрии
О РЕЖИССЕРАХ
Феликс ванн Грунинген - 1

Феликс ванн Грунинген

Родился в 1977 году, окончил Королевскую академию изящных искусств в Генте в 2000 году. Снял несколько короткометражных фильмов, писал пьесы и поставил ряд спектаклей в театрах, а также сыграл главную роль в одной из постановок. После попыток найти себя в разных областях искусства вернулся в кинематограф. На сегодняшний день снял три полнометражных фильма.

Избранная фильмография

2013 Разорванный круг

2009 Фламандские натюрморты (De helaasheid der dingen)

2007 С такими друзьями (Dagen zonder life)

2004 Стив и Скай

ВИДЕО