71st Cannes Film Festival Results announced

The largest and most influential festival of world’s cinema - the 71st Cannes Film Festival ended on the Cote d'Azur on 19 May, 2018. The reviewers note that this year the main competition and parallel programs were both very strong. Japanese director Hirokazu Kore-eda, the participant of the April retrospective of the Japanese cinematography "Twilight and Beauty", received the "Palm d'Or" for the picture "Shoplifters". Spike Lee won the second most important award of the Cannes Festival - Grand Prix - for the extraordinary comedy "BlacKkKlansman".


Full list of winners of the 71st Cannes Film Festival:

Palme d'Or
"Shoplifters" by Hirokazu Kore-eda

Grand Prix
"BlacKkKlansman" by Spike Lee

Jury Prize
"Capernaum" by Nadine Labaki

Best Director Prize
"Zimna Wojna" ("Cold War") by Pawel Pawlikowski

Best Performance by an Actor
Marcello Fonte in "Dogman" by Matteo Garrone

Best Performance by an Actress
Samal Yeslyamova in "Ayka" by Sergey Dvortsevoy

Best Screenplay
Alice Rohrwacher for "Lazzaro Felice" (Happy as Lazzaro)
Jafar Panahi for "Se Rokh" (3 Faces) directed by Jafar Panahi

Special Palme d'Or
"Le Livre d’Image" ("Image Book") directed by Jean-Luc Godard

Palme d'Or for the Best Short Film
"All These Creatures" directed by Charles Williams

Special Distinction by the Jury (Short Films)
"Yan Bian Shao Nian" ("On the Border") directed by Wei Shujun

Camera d’Or
"Girl" directed by Lukas Dhont presented as part of Un Certain Regard

In addition to the main competition, which has traditionally been paid close attention, at the Cannes International Film Festival, traditional awards are given to parallel sections and independent juries.

FIPRESCI Prize for the best film in completion
"Burning" by Lee Chang-dong

FIPRESCI Prizefor the best film in section "Un certain regard"
"Girl" directed by Lukas Dhont

FIPRESCI Prize in International Critics' Week
"One Day" by Zsófia Szilágyi

Prize of the Ecumenical Jury
"Capernaum" by Nadine Labaki

Special Mention of the Ecumenical Jury
"BlacKkKlansman" by Spike Lee

In addition, musicians Roma Zver (Roman Bilyk) and Herman Osipov received the Cannes Soundtrack Award for the soundtrack for the movie "Summer" by Kirill Serebrennikov. The prize was created as an echo of the festival to award the composers and combine, as stated in the release, the "planets of cinema and music".