FAQ. National Film School Competition

1 What is the National Film School Competition?

This is a competition for documentaries created by students during their studies at film schools. The competition accepts films made during the last two academic years at a film school, and graduate theses as well.

2 So, only a film school can apply for participation?

No, the application can be submitted by the author of the film. Just fill out the form.

3 Can I apply, if my film did not participate in other film festivals and did not win prizes?

Yes, of course. But there is a caveat: if you are from Belarus, the film you submit should not first participate in other Belarusian film festivals and should not be screened in cinemas and on TV. Participation in the MIFF "Listapad" competitions involves the national premiere of the film. It means that for the first time the film must be publicly screened in Belarus on the MIFF "Listapad".

4 What if my movie is posted on YouTube or social networks?

Unfortunately, it can’t participate in the National Film Schools Competition.

5 In other words, if my student film has already participated in foreign film festivals, but has not participated in Belarusian ones and has not been screened and posted online, then it can take part in the National Film Schools Competition.

That’s right, if it is a documentary made during last two years.

6 My film is a documentary, but it has fiction scenes, animation, and I'm experimenting with video art. Can I submit it?

Yes, of course. We accept documentary films of all genres, from pure documentary to animadoc and docufiction. We welcome experimental works and films at the intersection of genres and forms. If your film meets the requirements of our regulations (see the answers above), it can participate in the competition.

7 I am a student and make films, but I study at another college, not in a film school. Can I apply?

Unfortunately, no. If you are from Belarus, try to apply to the National Competition.

8 I have long been out of college age, but now I am getting a new education, retraining as a filmmaker at the faculty of retraining. Can I apply?

Yes, if your film meets the regulations.

9 And if I study in a non-governmental film school, can my film participate?

Yes, if it meets the regulations.

10 What reward can I win?

In the National Film Schools Competition you can win the Best Film Award and several diplomas of the international jury. At the 27th MIFF "Listapad" we have a new award for the Best Film School Programme.

11 Why should I participate in the National Film Schools Competition?

You’ll watch some good documentaries, meet your colleagues, share your experience, learn how documentaries are made in film schools all over the world, show your film to professionals and get feedback from them. For three days of the competition we invite all the film authors and their mentors. You’ll definitely find like-minded people, colleagues and collaborators to work with in big cinema. Good luck!

FAQ. Конкурс национальных киношкол

1 Что такое Конкурс национальных киношкол?

Это конкурс документальных фильмов, созданных студентами во время обучения в киношколах. Принимаются фильмы, снятые в киношколе за последние два учебных года, в том числе дипломные работы выпускников.

2 Значит, подать заявку на участие может только киношкола?

Нет, заявку может подать и сам автор фильма. Достаточно заполнить форму.

3 А если мой фильм не участвовал в других кинофестивалях и не завоевал призов, я могу подать заявку?

Да, конечно. Но есть нюанс: если вы из Беларуси, то фильм, который вы подаете на Конкурс национальных киношкол, не должен прежде участвовать в других белорусских кинофестивалях, показываться в кинотеатрах и на ТВ. Участие в конкурсах ММКФ «Лістапад» предполагает национальную премьеру фильма. Это значит, что в рамках ММКФ «Лістапад» фильм должен впервые публично показываться в Беларуси.

4 А если мой фильм выложен на ютубе или в социальных сетях?

Увы, в таком случае он не сможет участвовать в Конкурсе национальных киношкол.

5 Уточню. То есть если мой студенческий фильм уже участвовал в зарубежных кинофестивалях, но не участвовал в белорусских и не показывался по ТВ, он не выложен в интернет, то он может принять участие в Конкурсе национальных киношкол?

Совершенно верно. Если это документальный фильм последних двух лет.

6 Мой фильм документальный, но в нем есть и постановочные сцены, и анимация, и еще я экспериментирую с видеоартом. Я могу подать его?

Да, конечно. Мы принимаем документальные фильмы всех жанров и направлений, от чистой документалистики до анимадока и докуфикшна. Мы приветствуем экспериментальные работы и фильмы на стыке жанров и форм. Если ваш фильм удовлетворяет требования нашего регламента (см. ответы выше), он может участвовать в конкурсе.

7 Я студент и снимаю фильмы, но учусь не в киношколе, а в другом вузе, не связанном с кино. Я могу подать заявку?

К сожалению, нет. Если вы из Беларуси, попробуйте подать заявку в Национальный конкурс.

8 Я давно вышел из студенческого возраста, но сейчас получаю новое образование, переучиваюсь на кинематографиста на факультете переподготовки и снимаю фильм. Я могу участвовать?

Да, если ваш фильм соответствует регламенту.

9 А если я учусь в негосударственной киношколе, мой фильм может участвовать?

Да, если он соответствует регламенту.

10 На какую награду я могу рассчитывать?

В Конкурсе национальных киношкол традиционно вручается приз «За лучший фильм» и, как правило, несколько дипломов по усмотрению международного жюри. На XXVII ММКФ «Лістапад» впервые будет вручена награда и киношколе – за лучшую программу фильмов.

11 Для чего вообще участвовать в Конкурсе национальных киношкол?

Чтобы посмотреть хорошее кино, познакомиться с коллегами, поделиться опытом, узнать, как учат снимать кино в киношколах других стран, показать свой фильм профессионалам и получить от них компетентный отзыв. На три дня конкурса мы приглашаем всех авторов фильмов и их педагогов. Вы точно найдете единомышленников, коллег и будущих соавторов для работы в большом кино. Удачи!