The Prince and The Dybbuk

Poland, Germany, 2017, 82 min.

Director

Elwira Niewiera,
Piotr Rosołowski

Producer

Małgorzata Zacharko,
Matthias Miegel,
Ann Carolin Renninger

Scenario

Elwira Niewiera,
Piotr Rosołowski

Rights Holder

Wide House

DOP

Piotr Rosołowski

Production

Film Art Production, Kundschafter Filmproduktion, zero one film

Who was Moshe Waks really? A golden boy of cinema, cunning fraud or a man who constantly confused the illusion of film with reality? The son of a poor Jewish blacksmith, he died in Italy as Prince Michał Waszy ński, Hollywood producer and exiled Polish aristocrat. He worked together with Orson Welles, Sophia Loren, Vittorio de Sica. However only one film was his true obsession – THE DYBBUK based on an old Jewish legend and directed by Waszy ński shortly before the the outbreak of the World War II. It also mirrors its creator’s personal life as a human chameleon with many faces.

HONORS
2017 Venice IFF (Italy) – Venice Classics Award for the Best Documentary on cinema
ABOUT THE DIRECTOR
Elwira Niewiera - 1

Elwira Niewiera

Lives and works in Berlin. Her feature documentary DOMINO EFFECT (2014) was shown at more than 50 festivals and won many awards, among them «The Golden Dove» at the IFF DOK Leipzig and «The Golden Horn» at Krakow FF and had arthouse cinema distribution in Germany, Poland and Switzerland.

Selected filmography

2017 The Prince and The Dybbuk

2014 Domino Effect

Piotr Rosołowski - 1

Piotr Rosołowski

Graduated from the Katowice Film School, awarded with a scholarship of the Academy of Media Arts in Cologne. Co-author of RABBIT À LA BERLIN (2009) – Academy Award nominated short documentary film and co-director of documentary film DOMINO EFFECT (2014).

Selected filmography

2017 The Prince and The Dybbuk

2014 Domino Effect

VIDEO

Принц и Диббук

Польша, Германия, 2017, 82 мин.

Режиссер

Эльвира Невера,
Петр Росоловски

Продюсер

Малгожата Захарко,
Анн Розалин Реннингер,
Маттиас Мигель

Сценарий

Эльвира Невера,
Петр Росоловски

Права

Wide House

Оператор

Петр Росоловски

Производство

Film Art Production, Kundschafter Filmproduktion, zero one film

Кем на самом деле был Моше Вакс? Успешным кинодельцом, ловким мошенником или человеком, который постоянно путал иллюзию кино и  реальность? Сын бедного еврейского кузнеца, он окончил свой жизненный путь в Италии как принц Михал Вашински, голливудский продюсер и  польский аристократ в изгнании. Он работал вместе с Орсоном Уэллсом, Софи Лорен, Витторио де Сикой. Но только одним фильмом Вашински был по-настоящему одержим. «Диббук», основанный на древней еврейской легенде и снятый незадолго до Второй мировой войны, стал еще и отражением личной жизни его создателя – человека-хамелеона со множеством лиц. 

НАГРАДЫ
2017 Венецианский МКФ (Италия) – премия за лучший документальный фильм о кино в секции «Венецианская классика»
О РЕЖИССЕРАХ
Эльвира Невера - 1

Эльвира Невера

Живет и работает в Берлине. Ее документальный фильм «Эффект домино» (2014) был показан на более чем 50 фестивалях и получил ряд наград, в том числе премии «Золотой голубь» на МКФ «DOK Leipzig» и «Золотой рог» на Краковском кинофестивале, и вышел в ограниченный прокат в Германии, Польше и Швейцарии.

Избранная фильмография

Принц и Диббук (2017)

Эффект домино (2014)

Петр Росоловски - 1

Петр Росоловски

После окончания киношколы в Катовице получил стипендию на обучение в Академии медиаискусств в Кёльне. Является соавтором документальных фильмов «Кролик по-берлински» (2009) – номинанта на премию Американской киноакадемии – и «Эффект домино» (2014).

Избранная фильмография

Принц и Диббук (2017)

Эффект домино (2014)

ВИДЕО